June Bookshelf

I only ended up reading one of the short stories from Somerset Maugham in May.  I’m not sure why but I just couldn’t get into them at all.  I’ll probably go back to them at some point.

As an alternative I opened up a Kindle freebie from a while ago:

Boob Tube (a soap opera novel)

It surprised me actually, it’s set around a LA soap opera cast, PR, agents and journos and it reminded me of Ben Elton’s novels.  This would be a great holiday read.  Not too taxing on the grey matter.

Onto this months Book Shelf now…

A Game of Proof (The trials of Sarah Newby)

Another Kindle freebie from a couple of months ago.  I think it’s always worth picking up if they’re free and I can always delete it if I change my mind later.  Reviews seem good for this one but there aren’t too many of them so I hope it is okay.

Yet another Kindle freebie on the list, this time a Greek detective novel (sounds a bit out of the ordinary anyway):

The Whispers of Nemesis

We’ve recently bought a new suite for the living room and moved one of the chairs and ottoman into our master bedroom in a chaise arrangement – that’s a really comfy spot to read in but I’m hoping the weather will be nice enough to manage a few days reading in the garden this month.

Have a great Jubilee weekend!

Leave a Reply

