My Life In Books

Inspired by a post on At Home With Mrs M…

Earliest Memories

Cooking with Mother (Early learning)

I’ve no idea how many things we made out of this book but we always cooked with my Mam and Nana.  My own daughter now has the cooking bug too.

Age 7

The Wizard of Oz (Puffin Classics)

I know I was seven when I read The Wizard of Oz as it was a pilot scheme for Shared Reading and I read this with a little help from my Mam.  I was so please with myself for reading a big book!  It also happens to be one of my favourite films.

Summer Holidays

Gnomes Deluxe Collector's Edition

Me and my sister were often dragged to the local library by my Dad who is an avid reader.  I remember reading this one summer holiday and being fascinated by the life of Gnomes!  I also remember his car alarm (that he’d fitted himself probably with help from a library book) went off in the car park one time and he couldn’t switch it off.

Mid Teens

Four Past Midnight

My friends clubbed together to buy me this book as a birthday present and it was my first introduction to Stephen King and I loved it.  I’ve read quite a lot of Stephen King’s work since so I must have enjoyed it even though I can only remember one of the stories now.

The next two strangely go hand in hand…

The Silmarillion

This was hanging around at home when I was asked to choose a book for my GCSE English Literature course work.  I was told by my teacher that I’d find it too tough so of course that made me more determined to read it.  In hindsight I wish I’d chosen an easier book.  One reviewer on Amazon describes is as being Genesis in the Bible but with Elven names.  My husband finally persuaded me to read The Hobbit and then The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy many many years later and I was quite surprised that I ‘knew’ the background but it is a tough read.

Great Expectations

A supply teacher stood in one day and asked us to pick up Great Expectations and whereas most of my classmates found it thoroughly boring I loved it!  I still love Dickens now.  I think he’s an amazing and descriptive writer, and funny at times too.  Most people I’ve spoken to find him terribly depressing but I’ve never found that even with the often depressing situations his characters are born into.

Early Twenties

Crime and Punishment (Wordsworth Classics)

I had a break from reading fiction while I was at university but began reading ‘the classics’ when I started in my first job.  There were some I really didn’t enjoy – Don Quixote I’m looking at you!  I did enjoy that phase of my reading though and Crime and Punishment sticks in my mind as being an utterly brilliant piece of literature.  I did however lend my copy to a friend who admitted he just couldn’t get past the first chapter so it’s horses for courses I suppose.

Late Twenties

War and Peace (Wordsworth Classics)

After Crime and Punishment I presumed War and Peace would be a doddle.  Do you know how many times I’ve pick this up and just never been able to get into it?  I even tried another of Tolstoy’s books (Anna Karenina) to see if it was him or me… it seems to be me.  It’s actually gone onto my Bucket List now.

Now

Orchids on Your Budget: or Live Smartly on What You Have

I’ve written about this book before and it’s almost a self-help book for readjusting your expectations to your pay packet.

Well, my Life in Books looks quite heavy going doesn’t it?  I do read lighter novels but they tend to not have been as thought provoking obviously!

One thought on “My Life In Books

Leave a Reply

