Letterpress Starter Kit

Letterpress Starter Kit

Last year I saw a bargain on the Quickcutz Letterpress kit on Mad About Cards (http://www.madaboutcards.com/) and I thought I’d give it a shot for £20.  They did reduce them even further so keep an eye out for them.  I had read reviews on it previously but at its full price (around £50) it just wasn’t worth it.  My plan was if the letterpress aspect of it didn’t work particularly well I could use the sandwich as a stamping placement plate as this was something I didn’t already have.

So, onto my review…

It’s okay.  Worth the £20 but not more really.  This could have been sooooo much better.  I just don’t get why they let this gone on sale in this state?  The crafting sector is surely so competitive they should have road tested this first.  The letterpress technique allows not only debossing of an image but also inking the debossed area at the same time. 

The photopolymer shapes are roughly cut (I filed some of the burrs back with an emery board) and they can split/crack easily.  I had some success using Cuttlebug embossing folders and also Impressabilities instead of the photopolymer plates but wouldn’t it be great to have something personallised?  The ink is okay and I’ve tried using various other craft inks with hit-and-miss success.  The main downfall of the whole thing is the brayer that is neither use nor ornament!  The sandwich will be good as an acrylic block and stamp placement tool as I suspected.

I’ve since seen that Stampin’ up and Sizzix have brought out letterpress blocks and I’m tempted to get one of those to try but now I have a decent brayer I’ll have another play with my current stash.  Sorry no pics as there was nothing decent from my first try.

Leave a Reply

