Meal Planning

I’m early this week:

  • Pasta with meatballs

I always check out the reduced section when I’m in Asda for their flavoured meatballs so I can bung them in the freezer and get them out when I know I’ll be working late.  I don’t see the point in paying full price when I know I’m putting them in the freezer anyway.  For the sauce I fry some onion, add a tin of chopped tomatoes, a splodge of tomato puree and thicken it with some gravy granules (it works, honestly).  Sometimes I’ll add in some dried chilli or extra pepper – whatever compliments the flavour of the balls really.

  • Chicken Satay

I have made satay from Jamie Oliver’s 30 minute recipe before but my parents brought back a load of Thai packet mixes from their holidays so I’m going to try one of those.  Not sure whether to serve with rice or noodles.

  • Cottage Pie (using up left over veg and mash from Sunday roast)

Another that started life in the Dairy Book of Home Cookery and then gets a bit spiced up with lashings of Worcestershire Sauce and chilli flakes.  Not forgetting the thick layer of bubbling cheese on top.

Talking of Sunday roast – today I made Pork Fillet with Mustard and Herbs http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1549/pork-fillet-with-mustard-and-herbs this was a really easy ‘roast’ to do and I threw in some chunks of onion and peppers to cook alongside the loins.  It’s quite an unusual recipe in that the loins are cooked first and then smothered with the dressing but it does give it a really fresh taste.  I must admit to bodging the recipe a tiny bit as I beheaded a full basil plant and only getting 25g off it so I just beheaded a full parsley plant too.  There was way too much herb mix left over as well.  Luckily there was also some pork left so we’ll have that cold in tortilla wraps for lunch tomorrow (three loins fed six adults and a child easily).

Leave a Reply

