September Bookshelf

I did better than I expected in August.  I barely read anything for the fortnight I was on holiday (I blame watching Storage Wars – so bad it’s good!)

The Reluctant Fundamentalist:

I talked about this one with my Mother In Law and we both agreed it was a pretty odd book. I’m not sure I’ve ever read a book written in quite the same format before. The narrator talks aloud throughout the book and his is also the only voice we hear and it definitely seemed to have an accent, I’d suppose you’d call it, to it or at least a manner of writing that lets you know that English is not the speakers first language. Quite masterfully written but neither of us liked the ending. I’m not sure how I though it might end but it kind of fizzled out and there didn’t seem much point to the whole book after that. Worth a read and it’s quite a short book so it’s not as though you’re going to waste weeks on it if it turns out it’s not to your taste.

Eye of the Needle

Wow! What a fast paced spy drama. I’ve never read anything by Ken Follet before but this was a fantastic yarn. Couldn’t put it down until I’d read the last page to see how it was going to end. The last page was, incidentally, the worst bit though, so just skip the epilogue if you’re planning to read this book. No wishy-washy characters and plenty of intrigue.

The Birds and Other Stories

Great horror writing but, it may just be me, I would have preferred the stories to have had some vague link. Each was good in its own way and would be perfect reading for Halloween. I would however recommend Edgar Allen Poe’s short stories over this if you’ve not read either (Poe is the ultimate).

So, onto September’s book shelf now:

The Scent of Lemon Leaves

The Scent of Lemon Leaves is set in Spain and about OAP’s (retirees) who were/are Nazis from what I can gather from the synopsis. It was on a special deal on Amazon and I liked the sound of the title and thought it’d be a good summery read. Being totally shallow I’ll admit to liking the look of the artwork on the front cover too. Unfortunately I’ve returned to the UK and it is without any sun whatsoever so I’m not sure how well this one will go down in current weather.

A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2) (Song of Ice & Fire 2)

A Clash of Kings aka Game of Thrones Book 2 should see me up to date with the TV series.

I’m really really trying to avoid any special deals on books this month – think I’ll manage it?  I’ve already picked up one book on my wish list for free but that’s allowed isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

