The Novice Yoghurt Maker

I’ve had my yoghurt maker about 6 or 7 years I think.  It was a special in Lidl and it hasn’t been out of the box until now!

What you need:

1) Yoghurt maker (although I believe people used to use an airing cupboard in the olden days)

2) One small pot of natural yoghurt

3) One litre of cold pasturised milk

What you do:

1) Mix the yoghurt and milk together and pour it into the pots that come with the yoghurt maker

 001_zps27a2e19a.jpg photo

2) Put the lid on, turn it on and wait 14 hours

 002_zpsba945194.jpg photo

3) Cool in the fridge and then eat yoghurt!

Verdict: My first batch was a little runny but still edible and it tasted like yoghurt.  More importantly we didn’t die or anything!  My daughter had hers with strawberries and honey and I had mine with some Tate & Lyle’s Golden Syrup.  You can keep back one pot of yoghurt for the next batch but it’s probably not something I’d make very often.  My daughter just wanted to ‘make something’ and I remembered the yoghurt maker so hence the experiment.  It’s very easy to do and cheap too.

I really wish that I’d seen this recipe at the time though: http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/yoghurt-cake-3528

 

Leave a Reply

