May’s Bookshelf

May’s bookshelf:

The Golem and The Djinn (or Djinni as I’ve seen both)

I thought that the subject matter was interesting…  A Golem is a creature made from clay and bound to a master but what happens when that master dies?  A Djinn is what I’d call a genie and this one did indeed live in a lamp.  The book started off following each main character and it was obvious that they would meet up at some point but would they be friends or enemies?  I found the book fairly slow going in parts and the ending was a bit rushed.  Not my normal genre but I did enjoy it although not as much as I’d hoped.

Of Mice and Men

Now, I’m not usually a fan of modern fiction but I’ve put a few titles on my ‘to-read’ list this year and this was one of them.  I really, really enjoyed it!  I can see that if it was dissected in a school environment it wouldn’t be nearly so enjoyable though.  It has inspired me to read more modern fiction certainly.

The Rabbit Back Literature Society

A creepy Scandi fable if the reviews are to be believed.  Something about the title drew me in but now I’m really not sure.  Just started it last night.

 

Leave a Reply

