August Bookshelf

So I had two books on my list for July…

Never Buried: Leigh Koslow Mystery Series, Book 1 is a very lighthearted, slightly bizarre/unrealistic but an okay murder/mystery read.  I’m not particularly inspired to read more from this author but nor would I avoid them unlike Painless.

Painless has to be one of the worst books I’ve ever read.  Eeeek.  I felt I was in the middle of a Jason Statham blow-em-up movie at times.  The characters were badly written, especially the part of the four-year old, who seemed to have a multiple personality disorder throughout the whole book.  Avoid at all costs (not that mine cost anything but you know what I mean)… or wait until Jason Statham stars in the film version!  If you read the reviews on Amazon most people agree with me but I’m left wondering whether the other reviewers actually read the same book?

I rattled through them very quickly and was thinking of what to read next.  A colleague began telling me about how great A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1) was so I decided to give it a shot.

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)

Now I rarely watch something and then go and read the book but I’m almost though the first book and it’s actually filled in a lot of the blanks I had when watching series one.  There seems to be a lot more background to the why’s and wherefores which I’m sure will become more apparent as the saga continues although I’m still unsure where people’s loyalty lies at times.  It’s well written and series one is pretty true to book one although the characters are all much younger in the book.  Tyrion Lannister is still my favourite character.  This book was so much easier to read than say Tolkien but certainly in a similar vein to LOTR epic.  I’ll have a little break before picking up book two but I’m looking forward to continuing on with the books (and TV series – eagerly awaiting season three).  These books are long be warned but at least you know you’re going to get your moneys worth out of them.

For August I have the following on my summer holiday reading list:

The Birds and Other Stories

The Birds And Other Stories (Virago Modern Classics)

Eye of The Needle

Eye of the Needle

Some sinister horror followed up with WW2 espionage.  Couldn’t get much father away from medieval fantasy than that could I?

In reserve I have this novella that my Mother In Law passed on to me:

The Reluctant Fundamentalist

Not entirely sure what genre this is to be honest!

Leave a comment